Toyota’s Staggering Season Was Not Enough for a Prize in England

The choice of the UK’s Autosport magazine for the year’s best rally car was the Ford Fiesta WRC for the second consecutive year.

Last year, the Ford Fiesta WRC car of the British M-Sport team won the World Series of Rally Championships both as carmakers and drivers as the world champion. This year, Sebastien Ogier drove Ford into the second consecutive world championship in drivers, but the carmakers’ world championships were dominated by Tommi Mäkinen’s Toyota Gazoo Racing Yaris WRC. However, Toyotan’s success did not suffice for the rally car title of the year.

In the World Series of 13 races this year, Toyota won five, the M-Sport Ford four. Prize-winning investments Toyota picked up much more from the British model, 14-9. Likewise, specialty sales at Toyota during the World Championships in 2018 were significantly higher than those of Ford, with the number of 112-46 in the Yaris WRC. Top-6 investments with special-purpose Toyota drivers reached a total of 488, M-Sport Ford drivers 325.

When Toyota won the World Championship of Carmakers in the Rally World Championships in 1999, the Corolla WRC car was awarded the Autosport magazine by the year’s rally car. Discussion about the homecoming of the autosport has taken place before. For example, in 2011 The Mini John Cooper Works WRC car built by British Prodriven was selected for the rally car in the year that year – nothing was achieved.

For the 2018 best car racing car, the Mercedes-Benz F1 car was awarded the double rank of Mercedes. The Mercedese F1 stack has celebrated the Best Racing Car of the Year for five consecutive years, and in that prize category, the F1 car was left without awards in 1982 to 2018 only four times. For example, a rally car in the Autosport prize gala has not been awarded one of the best racing cars of the year. As the best rally driver for the year, Autosport chose Ogier for the sixth consecutive year.

Autosport choices for the year’s rally car in the 21st century

2000 – Ford Focus WRC
2001 – Ford Focus WRC
2002 – Peugeot 206 WRC
2003 – Citroen Xsara WRC
2004 – Citroen Xsara WRC
2005 – Citroen Xsara WRC
2006 – Ford Focus WRC
2007 – Ford Focus WRC
2008 – Citroen C4 WRC
2009 – Citroen C4 WRC
2010 – Citroen C4 WRC
2011 – Mini John Cooper Works WRC
2012 – Citroen DS3 WRC
2013 – Peugeot 208 T16 Pikes Peak
2014 – Volkswagen Polo R WRC
2015 – Volkswagen Polo R WRC
2016 – Volkswagen Polo R WRC
2017 – Ford Fiesta WRC
2018 – Ford Fiesta WRC

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *